10 May 2007

A sad ending


This is just so wrong!

08 May 2007

Please make the bad man go away!

Good GAWD! I have had enough. I have been running bad (no, worse than bad, HORRIBLE) for the last two months. I don't know if it is actually worse now the farther I have gotten into it or if my perception of it is just heightened since it has been going on for so long. I cannot win a race, my big pairs get killed by runner runner, I flop the nut flush only to die a slow painful death on the river to a boat.

I would love to tell you about all of my bad beats, I just simply don't have the time for all of them.

Please mommy, just make the bad beats go away!

02 May 2007

Whatever happened to manners?

I was in Tacoma this week for a class on Indoor Fireworks, Outdoor Fireworks and Indoor Flame Effects. What a cool class. Not only did I learn a ton, but we got to blow up some stuff and light off some cool fireworks as well as play with some flame effects generators. If I wasn't a fireman I would definitely consider a job in pyrotechnics. But I digress.........

While I was in Tacoma, the Emerald Queen Casino was just a few blocks from where I stayed. After the class one day, I decided to go play some cards there. Unfortunately they did not have a card room, but they pointed me up the road to a place called "Freddies".

After getting to Freddies, I got $200 in chips and settled into the 4 - 8 limit half kill game. During my 3 hours there, I witnessed some of worst sportsmanship during a card game, that I have ever seen. Slow rolls, posting a raise and then taking it back after 2 people folded and another re-raised (he was escorted out of the casino), name calling at the table, cussing at the dealers and flipping them off (another escorted from the casino). In 3 hours I witnessed 5 different confrontations and thought I was going to see 2 different fights at the table. I don't know if this was a typical night at that establishment but I do know that I won't be going back because 4 of the players involved in these episodes were obviously regulars since they knew the dealers and the dealers knew them. The play there was horrendous and I cashed out with $420. I would have liked to stay longer since the game was so soft but just couldn't stand be there one minute longer. Poker is supposed to be fun - this wasn't. Whatever happened to manners and civility?